Plano Second DWI Attorney
Are You Facing a Second DWI? Call Us!
For those who have been arrested for a second DWI, all hope is not lost.
Although it may seem that you have an uphill battle to overcome, there
are ways to go about forming your defense.
The Law Offices of Scott Edgett is led by a
Top 100 Trial Lawyer and offers zealous advocacy.
What Are the Penalties for a Second DWI?
A second DWI in Texas is considered a Class A misdemeanor. Unlike other
states, Texas does not have a lookback period, which will ignore previous
DWI convictions after a certain number of years have passed. In other words,
if you were arrested for a DWI more than 30 years ago, that will be used
in considering second DWI charges.
The penalties for a second DWI offense might include the following:
- Fine of up to $4, 000
- Minimum 1 month and up to 1 year in jail
- Community service between 80 to 200 hours
- Court-ordered rehabilitation or substance abuse counseling
You may also have your license taken away during an administrative hearing
with the Texas Office of Administrative Hearings. You will only have 15
days to schedule this hearing, where the evidence will be evaluated to
determine whether or not you were driving while intoxicated and if your
license should be taken away. Furthermore, there will be additional fees
to have your license reinstated if you do win your hearing. Our Plano
DWI attorney can help make sense of the situation and represent you when
your time in court comes!
Put an Award-Winning Lawyer in Your Corner
With extensive experience in all facets of criminal law, including DWI,
our Plano DWI attorney at the
Law Offices of Scott Edgett is well-known for dependability, integrity, and honest work ethic. If
you have been charged with a second DWI, call us. We take these matters
You have the right to protect yourself—contact Scott Edgett to request a
free case review.