Arrested for Sexual Assault of a Child in Texas?
Call (972) 635-4224 to Let a Plano Criminal Defense Attorney Fight for You
Since children under the age of 17 cannot legally consent to sexual intercourse
in Texas, any sexual activity involving a minor can lead to a criminal
charge and serious penalties. If you were recently arrested or accused of
sexual assault of a child, a conviction can result in a lengthy prison sentence, expensive
fines, and registration as a sexual offender for the rest of your life,
which can permanently ruin your personal and professional reputation.
Law Offices of Scott Edgett, Attorney Edgett is committed to protecting your rights, reputation, and
future. With over a decade of legal experience, he can thoroughly review
your case and determine all of your legal options to either get your charges
reduced or your entire case dismissed.
Sexual Assault of a Child Definition & Penalties
You may be convicted of sexual assault of a child, also known as “statutory
rape,” if you caused the penetration of the sex organ or anus of
a child by any means, penetrated the mouth of a child with your sexual
organ, or caused the child’s genitals, anus, or mouth to touch or
penetrate the sexual organ, anus, or mouth of any person. It is considered
a second-degree felony, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 20
years, a fine of up to $10,000, and the requirement to register as a sex
offender for life after release from prison.
However, this charge may be elevated to that of aggravated sexual assault
if any of the following occur during the commission of the sexual assault crime:
- The offender has caused serious bodily harm or attempted to cause the death
of the victim
- The offender placed the victim in fear of death or serious bodily injury
- The offender kidnaps the victim for his or herself, or to another person
- The offender used or exhibited a deadly weapon during the crime
- The offender acted with another person in committing the crime
- The offender used a “date rape drug”
- The victim is younger than 14 years old
Aggravated sexual is a first-degree felony, which is punishable by a maximum
prison sentence of 99 years with a minimum sentence of 25 years.
Request a Free Case Evaluation Today
Getting convicted of any type of sex crime involving a child will change
your life forever. Once you finish your time in prison and pay your fine,
you must still face the humiliation of registering as a sexual offender
and experienced difficulties finding employment or a place to live. Do
not risk going up against these charges without experienced and skilled
Contact Attorney Edgett and let him start your defense immediately.